skip navigation

Canada Announces Squad for CONCACAF Women's U17 Championship

By Staff, 04/20/22, 10:30AM EDT


Play. Inspire. Unite.

Seven players from Ontario named to the 20-player roster

Canada Soccer have announced their squad for the upcoming 2022 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship, Canada’s qualification route for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup India 2022. Canada’s 20-player squad, coached by Emma Humphries, will compete from 23 April to 8 May for one of four berths to the global tournament.

This will be the second Concacaf youth tournament since the global pandemic that canceled tournaments in 2020 and 2021. At the recent Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship in Dominican Republic, Canada finished in third place to qualify for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Costa Rica 2022.


Seven players in the squad have direct connections to Ontario, with players representing cities and clubs from all over the province. Listed below are the seven Ontario based players named to the squad, including notable youth clubs where they played.

GK - Noelle Henning - Milton YSC

CB - Zoe Markesini - Markham SC

FB - Ella Ottey - Dixie SC

F - Amanda Allen - North Mississauga SC

F - Rosa Maalouf - Ottawa Internationals SC

F - Nyah Rose - Unionville-Milliken SC

F - Renne Watson -  East York SC

For the full Canada U17 roster list, click here.

Canada are Olympic champions (Tokyo 2020), two-time bronze medal winners (2012 and 2016), and two-time Concacaf champions (1998 and 2010). In all, Canada have participated in seven consecutive editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ (1995 to 2019) and four consecutive editions of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament (2008 to 2021). At Tokyo 2020, Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team became the first Canadian team to win three consecutive medals at the Summer Olympic Games and just the third nation in the world to win three medals in women’s soccer.

Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Youth Teams, meanwhile, have won four Concacaf youth titles: the 2004 and 2008 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, the 2010 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship, and the 2014 Concacaf Girls’ Under-15 Championship. Canada have qualified for eight editions of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (including a silver medal at Canada 2002) and all six editions of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (including a fourth-place finish at Uruguay 2018).