skip navigation

Match Officials Appreciation Day sees Ontario officials honoured

By Staff, 10/30/18, 2:45PM EDT


A percentage of proceeds raised goes towards equipping Ontario Soccer fields with life-saving defibrillators

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Ontario Soccer President Peter Augruso (right) was on hand to assist in handing out the Match Official awards. Here, he receives a life-saving defibrillator from John Collie of Rescue 7

Ontario Soccer honoured match officials at the Match Officials Appreciation Day on Sunday. 

The ceremony for the Match Officials Appreciation awards, which took place at the BMO Club at BMO Field, saw officials from across the province honoured for their role in either helping to develop match officials, or for their outstanding performances as match officials. 

Match Officials were then treated to a discussion with PRO officials who were on hand and got to take in the final Toronto FC game of the season, as they downed their rivals from Atlanta 4-1. 

As part of the day, a percentage of the proceeds from each ticket sold to Match Official Appreciation Day were donated to help equip Ontario Soccer fields with life-saving defibrillators. 

John Collie, the President and CEO of Rescue 7, was in attendance to present the defibrillator to Ontario Soccer's new President Peter Augruso.

Spirit of the Game Award

DRSA – Gillian D’Alleva 

ECOSA – James Montague 

EMSA – Abbi Lezizidis

ECSA – Teodora Glisic 

EODSA – William McIntyre 

HamDSA – Paula Francisci 

HDSA – Jim Mataija 

LKSA – Eric Zhou 

NSA – Tony Maddalena 

PHSA – Andrew Murty 

SASA – Daniel Scarpino 

SSA – Jerome Watts 

SNE – Nicholas Daguerre 

SNW – Dino Felice 

SOSA – Stephane Auray 

SWRSA – Nava Rajabi 

SRSA – Claudio Clarini 

TSA – Silvio Aguayo 

YRSA – Ashley Marshall 

OPDL Development Award Winner

Brian Novogradac

Club Development Award Winner

Ottawa Gloucester Soccer Club