skip navigation

Ontario Soccer Board of Director elections to take place Oct. 14

By Staff, 10/08/18, 6:30PM EDT


The Ontario Soccer membership will elect a new board of directors this Sunday

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

The Ontario Soccer Board of Directors elections will be held at the Ontario Soccer AGM, scheduled to take place at the Jewel Event Centre (55 Sovereign Ct, Woodbridge, ON) on Oct. 14 at 9 a.m. 

The new Ontario Soccer Board of Directors is comprised of twelve (12) Directors including a President, Vice-President, five (5) Regional Directors and two (2) Independent Directors elected by the Voting Members and three (3) Designated Directors recommended by the Nominations Committee.

The Ontario Soccer Nominations Committee completed the nomination process, which set out to receive and vet expressions of interest for all board positions, interview and select three candidates to serve as Designated Directors and recommend candidates eligible to be elected by the Ontario Soccer voting membership as Independent and Regional Directors.

The Nomination Committee’s selections and recommendations are based upon candidates having relevant and complimentary skill sets and the individual and collective ability to make an impactful contribution to the board and the organization as a whole.

The following are the candidates up for election: 


The following individual is eligible for election to the President’s position

1. Peter Augruso

Independent Directors

The following individuals are eligible for election to an Independent Director position:

1. Andrew Chan

2. Michael Szubelak

3. Leslee Bax


The following individual is eligible for election to the Vice-President’s position

1. Brenda Brown

Designated Directors

The three individuals that the Nominations Committee unanimously selects to fill the Designated Director positions are:

1. David Miller - 3 year term

2. Gerry Gentile - 2 year term

3. Sergio Folino - 1 year term

Regional Directors Candidates

The following individuals are eligible for election to a Regional Director position:

1. Central - John Tzanis

2. West - Vince Mazza

3. North - Rosie North, Clive Wilkinson

4. South – Alice Strachan

5. East – Valerie Hughes

Candidate profiles can be found on the Ontario Soccer website.

The election results will be posted immediately following the elections.