skip navigation

Toronto FC look to overcome 2-1 defecit in CONCACAF Champions League

By Staff, 04/23/18, 6:45AM EDT


Ontario internationals Jonathan Osorio, Ashtone Morgan and Jordan Hamilton have all played a role in TFC's run

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Toronto FC head to Guadalajara, Mexico down for the first time in their 2018 Concacaf Champions League campaign after suffering a 1:2 loss to Club Deportivo Guadalajara in the first leg at BMO Field on 18 April. Chivas earned a first leg victory and are at home with the lead for the second leg of the Concacaf Champions League Final 25 April kicking off at 9:30 ET on TSN2.  
“We wish Toronto FC all the best as they look to extend their historic 2017 season with a fourth trophy and a chance to play against the world’s elite clubs,” said Canada Soccer President Steven Reed. “The Canadian Championship winners have consistently produced extraordinary results in the Concacaf Champions League and Toronto FC following on Montréal Impact’s appearance as a Canadian-based finalist is another example of Canada as a leading soccer nation.”
Canadian Internationals Jonathan Osorio, Ashtone Morgan, Tosaint Ricketts, and Jordan Hamilton have all played a role in Toronto’s historic Champions League run. Osorio is the goal scoring leader of the competition with four goals - three of which have provided Toronto with the opportunity to move forward in the competition - including a late back heel winner in front of his hometown fans to send Toronto FC to Monterrey with a 2:1 opening leg victory in the Quarter-Final. Ricketts and Osorio’s link up in the 12’ of the Semi-Final second leg proved the difference in that round after Morgan scored in the opening leg and he also scored the lone goal in Toronto’s first leg of the Final against Chivas at BMO Field.
Toronto FC’s 2017 Canadian Championship victory marked their sixth Canadian title and fifth qualification to Concacaf Champions League. Since the debut of both competitions in 2008, three Canadian winners have reached the Quarter-final stage or further in Concacaf Champions League: Toronto FC once (Semi-finals in 2011-12), Montréal twice (Quarter-finals in 2008-09 and Grand Final in 2014-15), and Vancouver Whitecaps FC once (Semi-finals in 2016-17).
In 2018, the Canadian Championship will expand to include the champions from Quebec’s Première ligue de soccer du Québec (PLSQ) and Ontario’s League1 Ontario. The competition kicks off in June with the champion and 2019 Concacaf Champions League entrant to be determined 15 August.