skip navigation

Ontario Soccer announced the 2017 Match Official Appreciation Day winners

By Staff, 09/25/17, 6:00PM EDT


Officials were honoured Oct. 15 at Toronto FC game

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Ontario Soccer proudly announced the 2017 class of Match Official Appreciation Day award winners on Sunday before a large crowd at BMO Field. 

The awards are divided into three categories: the Spirit of the Game Awards, the OPDL Development Award and the Club Development Award. 

The Spirit of the Game Award is given to a District or Club Match Official who embodies the “Spirit of the Game” through leadership, reliablility, constant willingness to learn, positive attitude, love of the game and participates as an active member in their community.

The OPDL Development Award winner exemplifies OPDL Development through embracing the opportunity, understands the OPDL development pathways, respecting the OPDL philosophy and being aware of the OPDL rules and applying them fairly and consistently. 

The Club Development is given to a club who embodies Club Development by demonstrating outstanding contribution to the development of Match Officials in Ontario, mentors and supports up and coming Match Officials while adhering to Ontario Soccer policies and protocols.

Spirit of the Game Award

Spirit of the Game Winners District
Beth McClelland ECOSA
Brooke Gauthier DRSA
Eduardo Suarez NYSA
Greg Cregan SRSA
Jack Hughes PHSA
Jason Thomas TSA
Keegan Windover EMSA
Kerry Holland SNW
Mark Doubrough Huronia
Michelle Panacci YRSA
Samantha Mallette SWRSA
Sophie Maine LKSA
Stephane Auray SOSA
Tyler Davie  SASA

OPDL Development Award Winner

OPDL Development Award Winner District
Antoye Alexander PHSA


Club Development Award Winner

Club Development Award Winner  District
Flamborough District Soccer Club HamDSA