skip navigation

The final 6 Ontario Cup champions are crowned

By Staff, 09/17/17, 5:00PM EDT


High drama on the final weekend of the summer-long tournament

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

The final six teams have been crowned Ontario Cup champions, as the provincial championships concluded in Vaughan this past weekend.  

The Ontario Soccer Stadium was host to clubs from across Ontario as the provincial championships for six divisions wrapped up their summer-long tournaments. 

While this weekend's divisions were not in contention for Nationals qualifications, there was still plenty of high-drama and interesting story lines from the games on display. 

The Ontario Cup is the largest competition of its kind in Canada. One of the oldest sporting events in the country, the Ontario Cup was first staged in 1901 and each year 12,000 athletes from all across the province compete for their division titles.  

In 2017, Canada Soccer has changed the national championship divisions to include the U-15 and U-17 boys and girls competitions, as well as the senior Men and Women's divisions.