skip navigation

8 Ontario Cup champions crowned

By Staff, 09/12/17, 10:30AM EDT


Durham Celtic won the Men's Ontario Cup, while Scarborough GS United won a fifth straight Women's title

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Eight teams have been crowned Ontario Cup champions, as the provincial championships concluded for a number of divisions in Vaughan this past weekend.  

The Ontario Soccer Stadium was host to clubs from across Ontario as the provincial championships for eight divisions wrapped up, including six divisions whose winner now qualifies for the Toyota National Club Championships, which begin in October. 

In 2017, Canada Soccer has changed the national championship divisions to include the U-15 and U-17 boys and girls competitions, as well as the senior Men and Women's divisions. 

The Ontario Cup is the largest competition of its kind in Canada. One of the oldest sporting events in the country, the Ontario Cup was first staged in 1901 and each year 12,000 athletes from all across the province compete for their division titles.