skip navigation

OSA Hosts Successful 2015 AGM And Centre Circle Awards

By OSA News, 04/28/15, 8:15PM EDT


The Ontario Soccer Association AGM weekend came to a close on Sunday following the election of three members to the OSA Board of Directors Executive Committee. The assembly received greetings from Canadian Soccer Association President Victor Montagliani, as well as the President's Address from Ron Smale and the Executive Director's report from Johnny Misley.

President Montagliani made reference to a generational change manifesting itself in the "Canadian soccer family" and the need to come together, particularly around the hosting of this summer's FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015 and in support of the Canadian Women's National Team. Furthermore, he emphasized, the need for greater professionalism in soccer governance and leadership en route to completing the CSA's strategic priorities by 2018.

The OSA Member Districts and Associate Members elected three individuals to serve two-year terms on the Board of Directors. Michael Allison returns as Vice President and Ian Duncanson was re-elected as Secretary. Rose Cuoppolo was newly elected as Director-At-Large.

At the 28th Annual Centre Circle Awards on Saturday night, the OSA recognized the lasting contribution individuals and organizations have made to the "Beautiful Game" in the province. Nominations from OSA Members are taken each year for these prestigious honours.

Three clubs were recognized with Meritorious Service Awards for significant contributions to the development of the game of soccer and enhancing the quality of life in their communities for a decade or more: Mount Hamilton Youth Soccer Club (Hamilton & District Soccer Association), Hamilton Sparta SC (Hamilton & District Soccer Association) and Oshawa N.A.S.C Soccer (Durham Region Soccer Association).

Four individuals received Meritorious Service Awards for special service to the game of soccer for 20 years or more: Greg Sampson (Elgin Middlesex Soccer Association), Nadia Tornifoglia (Hamilton & District Soccer Association), Geoff Painter (Elgin Middlesex Soccer Association), and George Babiolakis (Ontario Youth Soccer League). 

The Ontario Soccer Association selected long-time volunteer John Knox for Life Membership. Knox has served at every level of the game, including as past President and Vice-President of the OSA. At the Canadian Soccer Association, Knox served two terms on the Executive Committee, in addition to having sat on three committees. Currently, he is the chairman of the Canadian Soccer Hall of Fame and Museum, sits as a member of the CSA Appeals Committee and is the CSA FIFA National Security Officer.

Soccer historian Colin Jose received the prestigious President's Award. Jose is the pre-eminent authority on the history of soccer in North America, including the author of Keeping Score – A Canadian Encyclopedia of Soccer. He is the historian for the Canadian Soccer Hall of Fame & Museum and Historian Emeritus for the National Soccer Hall of Fame in the United States, whose Media Award is named in his honour.

Click here to view photos from the weekend

Did you attend the AGM or Centre Circle Awards? Take our survey and help make next year's events even better