skip navigation

Cyle Larin And Nine Other Ontario Players Called To Men's National Team

By OSA News, 06/04/15, 7:45PM EDT


With the next FIFA World Cup qualifying odyssey set to begin for Canada's Men's National Team, Head Coach Benito Floro has named his 23-man squad that will look to get things off on the right foot with a home-and-away series against Dominica. Ten of those players have roots to Ontario in their development. 

As Canada enters the second CONCACAF Preliminary Round of qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ against one of the smaller countries in the region, Floro has included plenty of familiar names for a Canada squad that isn't short on experience with the likes of Atiba Hutchinson, Julian de Guzman, and the return of Brampton's Cyle Larin. 

The team convenes in Orlando on June 7 for a few days of training in Florida prior to flying to Roseau, Dominica, on June 10. They play at Warner Park in Roseau on June 11 before flying to Toronto the next day to prepare for the second leg at BMO Field in Toronto on Tuesday June 16 (kick off 19.30 local).

The home-and-away series kick-starts a busy summer for the team as the FIFA World Cup qualifiers will lead into July's 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup. Toronto will play host to Canada again in that tournament. 

Click here to read more about the Men's National Team 

Ontario's players in the squad

Nana Attakora | North York, Toronto
Manjrekar James | North York, Toronto
Dejan Jakovic | Etobicoke / Woodbridge
Ashtone Morgan | Toronto
David Edgar | Kitchener
Julian de Guzman | Scarborough
Atiba Hutchinson | Brampton
Jonathan Osorio | Toronto
Russell Teibert | Niagara Falls
Cyle Larin | Brampton