skip navigation

League1 Ontario Awards - Coaches Of The Year

By OSA News, 11/23/15, 3:30PM EST


Ahead of next weekend's season-ending banquet and every day this week, League1 Ontario will be announcing this year's individual award winners.

League1 Ontario is proud to announce the winners of the 2015 Coaches of the Year awards: Vaughan Azzurri men's head coach Carmine Isacco, and Durham United F.C's women's head coach Tony La Ferrerra.

Carmine Isacco 

After taking the Azzurri to a second place finish in League1 Ontario's 2014 inaugural year, as well as winning the 2014 L1 Cup, Isacco followed up in 2015 by taking the Azzurri to third place in the men's standings after giving up only three losses in 22 matches. Only the title winning Oakville Blue Devils had as few losses over the campaign. At +33, Vaughan also had the second best goal difference in the league after the Devils.

After numerous changes to the successful 2014 squad, Isacco brought through a new generation of talented young players in 2015, including League1 first and second team all-stars Joey Cicchillo, Kamal Miller and Mario Kovacevic.

Although claiming his coach of the year award for the men's section, it is noteworthy that Isacco concurrently helmed the 2015 Vaughan women's side, leading the team to a third place finish.

Tony LaFerrarra

In the women's section, League1 Ontario champions Durham United F.C. had a fantastic season, winning all but two matches and racking up an incredible +61 goal difference in 18 matches after scoring 69 goals, and only giving up eight.

Head coach Tony La Ferrerra assembled a talented and hard-working squad of players, many of whom are development products of the Pickering, Oshawa, and Durham area.

A staggering six of the first 11 end-of-season all-stars were selected from Durham, with goalscoring phenomenon Alexandria LaMontagne, goalkeeper extraordinaire Nora Abolins, sibling duo and defensive stalwarts Kayla and Briana De Souza, and midfielders Hollie Babut and Geneva Winterink leading the way for the champions.

In the latter part of the season, La Ferrerra smoothly blended an exciting new generation of players into the Durham squad without dropping points in the standings - just one of many examples of managerial skill and vision over the course of the 2015 campaign.

Congratulations to Carmine Isacco and Tony La Ferrerra, League1 Ontario 2015 Coaches of the Year.

Upcoming award reveals

Men’s and Women’s Top Goalkeeper

Menss and Women’s Top Defender

Men’s and Women’s Young Player of the Year

Men’s and Women’s League MVP