skip navigation

Match Official Appreciation Day Award Winners Announced

By OSA News, 09/12/16, 8:00AM EDT


The Ontario Soccer Association, in partnership with Toronto FC, announced today the award winners of the Match Official Appreciation Day event.

In total, the Ontario Soccer Association will present five provincial awards and 18 district Spirit of the Game awards to the deserving stewards of soccer, on Oct. 1 at a Toronto FC game.

"We're incredibly proud of our match official community. This event allows us to put a spotlight on the great, often unsung work that our officials do for the game in Ontario," said Nicky Pearson, OSA Manager of Match Officials Development. "These officials have invested heavily in their own development and have contributed both on and off the field. We're delighted to acknowledge the good work they have done."

The OSA is pleased to work with Toronto FC and the Toronto Soccer Referee Association by expanding on their Match Officials Day initiative, which debuted in 2015 and successfully raised funds to purchase defibrillators for soccer fields.

All tickets sales to the game and event will include a percentage donated to raising money to purchase defibrillators at soccer fields. Visit and use the promo code OSA16 to purchase tickets to this event. 

The winners are as follows: 


Michael Bremer Ambassador Award | Joseph Audi (EODSA)

Joe Audi is an instructor, assessor, mentor, referee and a great ambassador of the soccer community in the district of EODSA and in Ontario. Audi simplifies the teaching material and makes it interesting for all levels of officials at any age group. His debriefs as an assessor are exemplary and he balances encouragement, while pointing out areas to improve. His message delivery is clear, bold and convincing. Audi has been an amazing mentor to many officials in their district. He brings a positive energy to his district and the Ontario soccer community in general and volunteers a tremendous amount of his time coaching and mentoring officials. Like Mike Bremer, Audi has contributed to soccer community in many ways. 

OPDL Development Award | John Ross Scarcelli Jr. (YRSA)

John Ross Scarcelli Jr. has matured as an official by opportunities given to him by the OSA Match Officials Development Department to officiate in the OPDL. Scarcelli has a reputation for being well mannered and for how much respect he demonstrates on the field. Always arriving early and being well groomed for the match, he demonstrates courtesy and respect towards other officials and OPDL Staff in attendance. His positive approach to defuse matters and attend to players on the field is one of his greatest assets. And he also gives his quality time on the field with House League with younger referee's in helping to promote them. Scarcelli is a true indication of what appreciation is. 

Carol Anne Chenard Contributors Award | Kim Lee (PHSA)

Kim has demonstrated she is a great candidate for this award for many different reasons. Particularly within the last year Lee's dedication to the game has stood out. This past winter she and another referee ran a 6 week fitness session within PHSA and the turn out and feedback that was received was excellent. Before the season started Lee took part in the North Mississauga's mentorship launch and since then, she has mentored numerous OPDL games and at the Ontario Summer Games. Lee wants to constantly improve her game and really takes the feedback to heart and looks to improve moving forward. Lee is always pushing herself to do her best and is a great mentor and match official. 

League1 Ontario Leadership Award | David Barrie (YRSA) 

No matter what the game, Dave Barrie treats every match with the same level of professionalism. Barrie takes the time to help out the younger referees that are appointed to a match with him. It would be easy for him to cite a busy Canada Soccer schedule and family commitments and not officiate in League1 Ontario, but he understands the benefit that the league has to offer as a development league and does his part. Barrie is consistently the most professional, most competent match official working in League1. He has the respect of all teams and often is assigned to the most important matches.

Club Match Officials Development Award | Guleph Soccer Club (SWRSA)

Under the leadership of Tamara Reitsma, Guelph Soccer is contributing the utmost to the development, retention, and the exceptional performance of match officials. The club devotes tremendous time to mentor, assess, and, most importantly, train officials. The club holds regular education sessions and actively encourages its officials to seek challenging appointments. In addition, as a Club Head Referee, Reitsma is extremely active and helpful beyond her club as well. She served as an instructor for a number of entry level and small sided clinics. Reitsma also supervised all of their fitness tests in the spring, including a test in Owen Sound. Finally, she is the most active assessor in our district, assessing a number of match officials in her club who are aspiring to develop their skills as officials.


The Spirt of the Game Awards are given to match officials who have demonstrated reliability and dependability. They must be a role model in their community and demonstrate a willingness to continue the learning process. They give back to the match official community as a whole and serve as volunteers and mentors.

District  Winner
Durham Region Soccer Association Colleen Noorhoff
Elgin Middlesex Soccer Association  Reinhard Schmiedt
Eastern Ontario District Soccer Association Michael Miller
Essex County Soccer Association  Jake Damstra 
Hamilton and District Soccer Association John Zefkic
Huronia District Soccer Association  Kaitlyn Bergsma
Lambton Soccer Association Cory Burke 
Niagara Soccer Association  Tony Maddalena 
Soccer Northeastern Ontario  Denver Kitching
Soccer Northwest Ontario  Carmen Felice 
Peel Halton Soccer Association  Matthew Aslett
Scarborough Soccer Association  Julia Prohaska
Southeast Ontario Soccer Association  Abel Almeida
South-West Regional Soccer Association  Tamara Reitsma
Soccer North Andre Gamache
Sudbury Regional Soccer Association  Claudio Clarini 
Toronto Soccer Association  Savio Lima Rodrigues
York Region Soccer Association  Joe De Marchi