skip navigation

Canada Drawn into Group with Guatemala and Cuba for 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup

By Staff, 04/17/23, 10:30AM EDT


Play. Inspire. Unite.

Canada, Cuba and Guatemala have been drawn together in Group D for the Group Stage of the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup. The three nations will be joined by a yet-to-be determined fourth nation from the Gold Cup Preliminary competition that will be played in June before the final competition.

The 17th edition of the Concacaf Gold Cup will take place this summer and will be hosted in 15 stadiums across 14 cities in the United States and Canada including Toronto. The 16-nation final competition runs from 24 June to 16 July with the last of the Concacaf nations to qualify in June. Canada, one of three past winners in the final competition since it was inaugurated in 1991, reached the Concacaf Semi-Finals in the last edition in 2021.

From the 16 nations in the Group Stage, two nations from each group will advance to the Quarter-Finals (8-9 July) after which four nations will advance to the Wednesday 12 July Semi-Finals. The last two nations will face each other in the Sunday 16 July Final at SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles, California.
Group A – USA, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Winner Prelims 9
Group B – Mexico, Haiti, Honduras, Qatar
Group C – Costa Rica, Panama, El Salvador, Winner Prelims 8
Group D – Canada, Guatemala, Cuba, Winner Prelims 7
All three matches will be broadcast live on OneSoccer.  Fans will find extended coverage for the matches across Canada Soccer’s digital channels on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, and Tik Tok featuring the hashtag #CANMNT.
Canada have faced both Guatemala and Cuba at past editions of the Concacaf Gold Cup. Against Guatemala, they have met only once, albeit a generation ago at the 2007 edition. Against Cuba, there have been four previous meetings, the most recent of which was a group stage match at the 2019 edition.
In advance of the Concacaf Gold Cup, Canada will be competing in the Concacaf Nations League Finals in Las Vegas, Nevada from  15-18 June. Canada will face Panama in the Semi-Final stage at Allegiant Stadium (19.00 ET / 16.00 PT) in Las Vegas, Nevada. 

Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team are the reigning Kings of Concacaf, having finished first overall in the Concacaf Final Round of FIFA World Cup Qualifiers from September 2021 to March 2022. It marked the third time that Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Team won a Concacaf title, having previously won the 1985 Concacaf Championship and the 2000 Concacaf Gold Cup.
Canada Soccer’s Men’s National Youth Teams have won two Concacaf titles: both the 1986 and 1996 Concacaf Men’s Youth Championships. Canada have qualified for 16 FIFA men’s youth tournaments: eight editions of the FIFA U-20 World Cup and eight editions of the FIFA U-17 World Cup. Across qualification in 2019 and 2023, Canada have qualified for back-to-back editions of the FIFA U-17 World Cup..

Canada Soccer’s Men’s EXCEL Program channels our nation’s exceptional players into the best soccer environments. The Canada Soccer Pathway works in collaboration with our provincial and territory partners as well as the professional clubs and academies. For Canada’s elite players, the program emphasizes player development on the pathway to representing Canada’s Men’s National Team in international soccer.