skip navigation

Canada Soccer announces 17 National List Referees appointed to FIFA List for 2022

By Staff, 01/13/22, 5:00PM EST


From Ontario, Carol Anne Chenard rejoins the fold, as does Melissa Snedden

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Canada Soccer has announced that 17 of its National List of Referees have been named to the FIFA List for 2022 international appointments. In addition, two referees – David Gantar and Philippe Brière – have retired from the FIFA List. The referees have been appointed as Referees, Assistant Referees, Video Match Officials, and Futsal Referees.

“We are extremely proud of the commitment and contributions that these 17 referees have made to the game as members of the Canada Soccer National List of Referees and congratulate each of them on their FIFA list achievement,” said Dr. Nick Bontis, Canada Soccer’s President. “While we welcome the newest members of the group, we also welcome back one of our most storied referees, Carol Anne Chenard, who will continue to build on her legacy as a world class referee.”

Referees returning to the FIFA List in 2022 include Drew Fischer, Marie-Soleil Beaudoin, Myriam Marcotte, and Pierre-Luc Lauziere. Carly Shaw-Maclaren joins the group for the first time in 2022.

Assistant Referees returning in 2022 include Micheal Barwegen, Oscar Mitchell-Carvalho, Chris Wattam, Chantal Boudreau, Lyes Arfa, Stephanie Fortin, Melissa Snedden, and Marie Han Gagnon Chretien. Stefan Tanaka-Freundt and Gabrielle Lemieux were named to the FIFA AR List for the first time in 2022.

Chris Grabas returns to the FIFA Futsal Referee List in 2022 while Carol-Anne Chenard joins returning Drew Fisher as appointees to the FIFA Video Match Official List.