skip navigation

President’s Award and Brian Avey Award announced

By Staff, 10/03/21, 9:00PM EDT


This year’s Centre Circle Awards presented by Nothers - The Award Store were once again conducted as an online virtual event.

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Ontario Soccer recognized and celebrated Soccer Leaders and Organizations from all over the Province on Sunday at the second annual Centre Circle Awards at Home presented by Nothers – The Award Store.

Due to the ongoing recovery from the global pandemic, this year’s Centre Circle Awards presented by Nothers - The Award Store were once again conducted as an online virtual event.  

It was a very special evening honoring those who have both made outstanding contributions and shown unwavering commitment to the game in our province and country.

The event also celebrated the resilience and resourcefulness of the soccer community that has pulled more closely together over the last year to overcome the historic challenges posed by COVID-19 as a team in order to Pitch In. Play ON!

Clubs, Coaches, Match Officials, Administrators and Community Leaders all had a moment to shine in the spotlight of the Centre Circle.

In addition to the previously announced Centre Circle Award recipients Sept 23, 2021, two more award winners were unveiled on Sunday.

Toronto FC President Bill Manning received the prestigious Ontario Soccer President’s Award in recognition of his immense contributions to TFC’s on and off field success since joining the organization in October 2015, but even more so for his tremendous support of grassroots soccer including making TFC the Founding Premier Partner of Ontario Soccer. The award was presented to Mr. Manning by Peter Augruso, President/Chair, Board of Directors of Ontario Soccer.

The Brian Avey Award was bestowed upon Mike Giona. Nominated by their peers of the Ontario Soccer Staff, this award is presented to the staff member that best exemplifies the principles and values of Ontario Soccer and takes pride in their contributions to soccer while exhibiting respect for the organization, its volunteers and participants.

In addition to the regular program of awards, the Ontario Soccer Board of Directors and Staff awarded Chief Executive Officer, Johnny Misley with The North Star Leadership Award, for his outstanding leadership of guiding soccer in Ontario through the COVID-19 crisis.

The Centre Circle Awards are Ontario Soccer’s highest level of recognition and are presented annually to deserving soccer leaders and organizations nominated on the basis of their outstanding contributions to the development of soccer in Ontario and Canada.

Ontario Soccer, in partnership with The Dairy Farmers of Ontario, also proudly added a new awards category to the event.

The MilkUP Future Leaders Award recognize young soccer leaders in each of five regions (Eastern Ontario, Central East, Central West, Western Ontario and Northern Ontario) for their outstanding contributions to their soccer community. Recipients receive an education grant of $2,500 along with the award to assist them in their educational endeavors.

For more on the previously announced 2021 Centre Circle Award recipients, click the links below:



Nominated by

Brams United SC

Club Recognition Award


Allan Field

Meritorious Award


Jacques Konig

Meritorious Award


Dave Holder

Meritorious Award


Mark Doubrough

Match Officials - Mike Bremer Award


Traci Cummings

Match Officials - Carol Anne Chénard Award


Jason Olinski

Match Officials – High Performance Award


Rick Morandini

Coaches – Development Award

Newmarket SC

Hollie Babut

Coaches – Soccer 4 Life Award

Pickering FC

Kristina Kiss

Coaches – High Performance Award


Massimo Marrone

MilkUP Future Leaders Award – North

Greater Sudbury SC

Kaya Martin

MilkUP Future Leaders Award – East

Opeongo Minor SC

Karina Bolla

MilkUP Future Leaders Award – Central E.

East Gwillimbury SC

Vanessa Ciofani

MilkUP Future Leaders Award – Central W.

Katya Lopac (Oakville SC)

Patrick Ansell

MilkUP Future Leaders Award - West



For a list of previous Centre Circle Award Recipients, please click here.

For more information, please visit