skip navigation

Canada Soccer selects match officials for Canadian Premier League kickoff

By Staff, 06/22/21, 2:15PM EDT


Six Ontario Match Officials have been selected for the 2021 Canadian Premier League Kickoff Tournament in Winnipeg

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Canada Soccer announced the referees that will participate in the 2021 Canadian Premier League Kickoff Tournament set for 26 June – 24 July at Investors Group Field in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Ten of the referees return to the Canadian Premier League tournament bubble format after attending the 2020 Canadian Premier League Island Games in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. The group includes Isaac Raymond, Canada Soccer’s Manager, Referees as well as two referee assessors and a fitness coach for the group.
“The Canadian Premier League represents a tremendous opportunity for Canada Soccer National and NextGen referees to officiate at the highest professional ranks of the game in this country,” Raymond said. “The Island Games in 2020 provided valuable insight, experience, and unique peer mentorship opportunities to the Canada Soccer Referees who attended leading to advanced standing and expanded opportunities for a number of the referees who participated. We’re pleased to be able to facilitate these professional development opportunities again in Winnipeg.”
Canada Soccer National List Referees David Barrie, Yusri Rudolf, Filip Dujic, and Carly Shaw-MacLaren (who refereed as a National at the Island Games after receiving promotion from the NextGen List), and 2020 Canadian Premier League Island Games Final Referee Juan Marquez are joined by Alain Ruch, Fabrizio Sasolla and Ben Hoskins (NextGen). While returnee Assistant Referees Lyes Arfa, Sean Hornsby, Michael Hood (NextGen), and Finals Assistant Referees Stefan Tanaka-Freundt and Gabrielle Lemieux are joined by Daniel Boudreau, Gerard-Kader Lebuis, Jason Vaillancourt (NextGen), and Félix Côté Leclerc (NextGen).
Canada Soccer Referee Instructors Joe Audi and Bob Sawtell return in Assessor/Referee Committee roles and are joined this year by Kevin Wildfong (fitness coach).

David Barrie (Bolton, Ontario) National
Alain Ruch National
Yusri Rudolf (North York, Ontario) National
Juan Marquez National
Fabrizio Stasolla (Scarborough, Ontario) National
Filip Dujic (Toronto, Ontario) National
Carly Shaw-MacLaren* National
Ben Hoskins NextGen
Lyes Arfa FIFA
Sean Hornsby (Ottawa, Ontario) National
Stefan Tanaka-Freundt National
Gabrielle Lemieux National
Daniel Boudreau National
Gerard-Kader Lebuis National
Michael Hood* NextGen
Jason Vaillancourt (Sudbury, Ontario) NextGen
Félix Côté Leclerc NextGen
Isaac Raymond Manager
Bob Sawtell Instructor
Joe Audi (Ottawa, Ontario) Instructor
Kevin Wildfong Fitness