skip navigation

Government of Ontario moves 3 regions into new Zones

By Staff, 12/04/20, 1:30PM EST


The following are the zone designations and the corresponding Public Health Units, which are effective Monday, December 7, 2020 at 12:01 a.m

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Ontario Soccer, in consultation with Canada Soccer and the Government of Ontario, continues to monitor the most recent developments surrounding the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the resulting public health crisis and Ontario Soccer’s Return to Play Plan.

The Government of Ontario announced today that it has moved 3 regions into new zones under the new Government of Ontario Framework, which is designed to keep Ontario operating safely and to better manage the increasing impact of the global pandemic.

The following are the zone designations and the corresponding Public Health Units, which are effective Monday, December 7, 2020 at 12:01 a.m. 


  • Peel Regional Health Unit
  • Toronto Public Health Unit


  • Durham Region Health Department
  • Halton Region Public Health
  • City of Hamilton Public Health Services
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services
  • York Region Public Health
  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit


  • Brant County Health Unit;
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit
  • Huron Perth Public Health
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit (NEW)
  • Niagara Region Public Health;
  • Ottawa Public Health
  • Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit
  • Southwestern Public Health
  • Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph Public Health
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit (NEW)


  • Chatham-Kent Public Health
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit (NEW)
  • Hastings Prince Edward Public Health
  • Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington Public Health
  • Lambton Public Health
  • Northwestern Health Unit
  • Peterborough Public Health
  • Public Health Sudbury & Districts;


  • Algoma Public Health;
  • Leeds, Grenville & Lanark District Health Unit;
  • North Bay Parry Sound District;
  • Porcupine Health Unit;
  • Renfrew County and District Health Unit;
  • Timiskaming Health Unit

The Government of Ontario Public Health Authorities have stated that those organizations, which are in Lockdown zones, should not travel to other zones to participate in Return to Play activities. The Government of Ontario has indicated that the local Public Health Units are being empowered for greater enforcement of these changes.   

Ontario Soccer recently completed work with the relevant Government Health and Sport authorities to update our Return to Play Guide and Plan to reflect the new government framework clearly within our Return to Play three-phase approach.

Organizations are reminded to review the updated Return to Play Guide and Plan with the details of the new protocols, for each Zone, which are designated by four colours as well as the ‘Lockdown’ zone. 

Ontario Soccer requests that all member organizations ensure they know which Public Health Unit they are located in. Click here to find your Public Health Unit.

Member organizations are encouraged to stay in contact with their local Public Health Unit and Municipality in the event these organizations have implemented additional restrictions that may impact their soccer operations.

Click here to use the COVID-19 Decision Tree to help navigate you through these changes.

How do I stay connected to Ontario Soccer?

For further information please refer to the latest bulletins on the COVID-19 Updates page, which has all the latest information from Ontario Soccer, as well as resources for your members. Please consider placing a dedicated link to the COVID-19 Updates on the homepage on your website.

If you have not subscribed to our weekly e-Newsletter, Subscribe to INSIDE THE 18. Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube.

If you have any questions, please contact Patty Forbes, Director, Administration.