skip navigation

Soccer leaders honoured at Centre Circle Awards 2019

By Staff, 06/15/19, 9:30PM EDT


The gala event, presented by Nothers Signs and Recognition, saw 14 individuals and organizations recognized for their contributions to the sport

Play. Inspire. Unite. 

Volunteers from all over the province were recognized at the Centre Circle Awards on Saturday. 

A classy, gala event, presented by Nothers Signs and Recognition, the evening of awards honoured those who have made outstanding contributions to the game.

Coaches, clubs, leagues, match officials, administrators and those who have dedicated a lifetime to the game, all took a moment to stand in the spotlight of the Centre Circle. 

“Volunteers are the backbone of the sport in Ontario and it’s important to honour the work they do in developing our game,” said Augurso. “It was also a special moment as we unveiled the President’s Award winner on the night and DG Sports couldn’t have been a more deserving winner because of the leadership and support they have contributed to the game over the years.”

Fourteen individuals and organizations were recognized for their life-long commitment to sport in Ontario. 

The Centre Circle Awards are Ontario Soccer’s highest level of recognition and are presented annually to deserving volunteers and organizations nominated on the basis of their outstanding contributions to the development of soccer in Ontario and Canada.

The 2019 recipients are:



Nominated by

Vaughan S.C.

Club Recognition Award

York Region SA

George Bennett

Meritorious Award

Eastern Ontario & District SA

Rene Braendli

Meritorious Award

Ottawa South United SC

Rob Gillies

Meritorious Award

Central SL

Richard Bowden

Meritorious Award

Oakville SC

Tom Casey

Meritorious Award

Hamilton & District SA

Jurgen Klaus

Meritorious Award

Elgin Middlesex SA

Paul Burke

Meritorious Award

Lambton Kent SA

David Smith

Match Officials - Mike Bremer

Ottawa Gloucester SC

Lowell Williamson

Match Officials - Carol Anne Chenard

Southwest Soccer

Giuseppe Politi


Coaches – Development

Sudbury Regional SA

Rick Morandini


Coaches – Soccer 4 Life

Newmarket SC


This year included the addition of the Brian Avey Award, a nod to an Ontario Soccer staff member who is recognized for the positive contributions they have made to Ontario Soccer. 

Avey, Ontario Soccer's first Executive Director in 1978, was on hand to present the award to the winner, Robyn McComb, Senior Manager of Events and Competitions for Ontario Soccer.  

View Photos From The Evening

Visit Ontario Soccer's Facebook page for all the photos from the evening.